The Robin and the Red Thread.


ANOTHER WONDERFUL PIECE

araneus1

Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 12.48.20 PM

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 5.24.50 pm

This story is now published as part of the anthology ‘Loyal and True’.

 This story has been published in the March 2014 edition of the Literary Journal ‘Toasted Cheese’. Please click here to view my story.

 

I’m pretty sure it was a Friday.

At the very least it was late in the week.

I remember because I like Fridays, not just because it’s the day before the weekend, every day is pretty much the same to me; I don’t ‘do’ weekends.

I guess it started because my dad taught a sparrow to trust him.

It took months and months but eventually this most distrustful of birds would land on my dad’s hand and eat crumbs. I always marvelled at my dad’s patience.

How many people do you know could convince a sparrow to trust him?

For months after my father died, the little bird would hang around outside…

View original post 813 more words

Leave a Reply

